"We believe in a church that respects the past, celebrates the diversity of our city and is not afraid to break out of the status quo to ask questions about the future."

Reverend Prebendary Alan Green, Rector of St John on Bethnal Green

About St John’s

Safeguarding at St John’s

Click on the link for full information

St John on Bethnal Green, a grade 1 Listed Building, was designed by Sir John Soane and built between 1826 and 1828. It also contains Chris Gollon’s magnificent 14 Stations of the Cross. St John’s has been listed in  The Guardian newspaper  as one of the top five cultural highlights of the East End because of our mixture of spirituality and art. If you are interested in family history, read this page to see where our registers are stored.

How to get to St John on Bethnal Green


St John on Bethnal Green is a Church of England parish church in the Diocese of London, part of the world-wide Anglican Communion. It is part of the Anglo-Catholic tradition that seeks to combine dignified traditional worship with a commitment to social justice and an engagement with contemporary arts.

We are a church that is enriched by the ordination of women and unconcerned with sexual orientation!

St John’s is now open for all the regular services. You can see when they are taking place in the calendar below, and also in this week’s service sheet here.



Community Art Room

The Crypt at St John’s contains a number of community enterprises, including our Community Art Room. This is the home of St John’s arts programme and holds regular classes for all experience levels.

Donate to St John on Bethnal Green

Donate through Give as you Live Donate

Multi Media Bar

Station I

Jesus is condemned to death

Station II

Jesus receives the cross

Station III

Jesus falls for the first time

Station IV

Jesus meets his mother

Station V

Simon of Cyrene carries the cross

Station VI

Veronica wipes Jesus’ face

Station VII

Jesus falls for a second time

Station VIII

Jesus meets the Women of Jerusalem

Station IX

Jesus falls for the third time

Station X

Jesus is stripped of his clothing

Station XI

Jesus is nailed to the cross

Station XII

Jesus dies on the cross

Station XIII

Jesus is taken down from the cross

Station XIV

Jesus is laid in his grave